My first Ruby on Rails application

May 30, 2007

After the interesting keynote (aptly named “Dynamic languages for statically typed minds”) by Niclas Nilsson at the ReMIX event in Stockholm last week, I decided to give Ruby a try.

I’ve also been curious about the Ruby on Rails framework, so that’s where I started. I downloaded the Instant Rails solution, unzipped it and a few seconds later I had a full-blown apache/mysql/ruby runtime, without any installation needed. Great start!

After that, I opened up the 182-page book Ruby on Rails: Up and Running and started programming straight away. It’s so easy, although I haven’t made it past chapter 2 yet. But man it is nice not having to hit Ctrl-Shift-B every time I make a change to my code. I’ll keep you posted on my findings along the way.

Ps. One thing that I’m confused about is how you dynamically can make a class’ private methods public from another class just like that. Good for unit testing, sure… but it seems rather insecure, doesn’t it? I mean, coders make methods private for a reason. Ds.

2 Responses to “My first Ruby on Rails application”


  1. […] I’ve given up on Ruby on Rails: Up and Running (which I previously recommended). It required too much understanding of Ruby for me to really get it, so I’ve switched to […]


  2. […] I’ve given up on Ruby on Rails: Up and Running (which I previously recommended). It required too much understanding of Ruby for me to really get it, so I’ve switched to […]


Leave a Reply

